Meat Free Monday

Getting involved with meat free Monday is a brilliant way to cut back on animal product consumption and begin transitioning to a more plant-based diet.

This is a quick and easy meal idea that I saw on Instagram and expanded on to create a full dinner.

The centre piece of the meal is the sliced cauliflower. To prepare it I made a spice rub: olive oil, ginger, cumin, coriander, garlic, green and red chillies. Fried it gently on both sides, and then roasted until crispy.

The centre of the cauliflower is the only part that really holds well as a slice so I had quite a lot of cauliflower left to play with. I processed the cauliflower with chopped tomatoes in my blender until smooth and used this as a base for my sauce. I fried onions, garlic and mushrooms until brown, combined with the tomatoes and cauliflower and simmered for several minutes.

SONY DSC

To complete the meal I heated up some sides that I had made over the weekend: carrot fries and roasted green beans; as always laid lots of greens on my plate; and topped everything off with a dash of lime juice.

SONY DSC

Everything was absolutely delicious and all gobbled up before I’d even thought about getting my instagram game on. My favourite thing about cooking is always trying something new, and I hope this post inspires you to do just that.

Happy Monday!

Leave a Reply

